A more productive autumn

Summer was not nearly as productive as I would have liked, but I’m happy to say I’m making up for it this autumn. I don’t know what my problem was, but I’m glad I’ve moved past it. I think I was so overwhelmed with all the projects I felt I needed to do while the weather was nice, that I just shut down. I would plan to work, I made to-do lists, I went through the motions of doing my projects, but I could not get anything done. I couldn’t be efficient. When it was nice I felt guilty for not working and I felt guilty for not enjoying the sun. The result was that I did neither, waffling back and forth. I think fall has taken away much of that pressure. As I said, I don’t know why autumn is different, but in the last couple months I have sanded, grouted, primed and painted my cabinet doors (with the help of my parents); mowed, pruned and mulched my garden (it looks so good and so winterproof!); Done tons of cooking and baking (and enjoyed it!); and started to teach myself needlepoint (because I don’t have enough to do). Jolie has mellowed out a little with the help of a private trainer, and despite some bumps in the road still, I actually feel like I might have a handle on things. Maybe a shaky grip, but one none-the-less. Stay tuned for pictures of my redone kitchen and some needle point project. Also, because of limited funds, stay tuned for hand-made gift ideas. Lastly, because I don’t have any photos to share of my projects, here are some pictures of Jolie (they don’t do justice to how cute she is 😉

Leave a Reply

